STAFF

The MADRES Center team includes skilled bilingual research professionals experienced in study coordination, data collection, phlebotomy, imaging, data management, data analytics, biostatistics, and the processing and archiving of biospecimens. The Center is committed to promoting opportunities for training, mentorship and career development in environmental health research, particularly among populations typically underrepresented in the field of environmental health sciences.   

Several of our team members are alumni of our MADRES Eagles-RISE (Research Internship and Service in Environmental health disparities) internship program for first generation college students, jointly sponsored with California State University, Los Angeles. This program was featured by the National Institute for Environmental Health Sciences in their Partnership for Environmental Public Health Newsletter.  

Study Team


Jennelle Alcaraz
Research Coordinator I
alcarazj@usc.edu

Milena Amadeus
Project Director
milenalo@usc.edu

Zoe Birnhak
Project Specialist- Administrative
birnhak@usc.edu

Andrea Calderon
Research Coordinator I
cald796@usc.edu

Carmen Chavez
Project Manager
cechavez@usc.edu

Dema Faham
Research Associate
dfaham@usc.edu

Stephen Howland
Project Manager
showland@usc.edu

Diana Morales
Research Coordinator I
dlm_191@usc.edu

Marisela Rosales
Research Coordinator I
rosa538@usc.edu

Josie Tadeo
Research Coordinator I
jtadeo@usc.edu

Lisa Valencia
Project Specialist- Administrative
lisavale@usc.edu

Alejandra Valenzuela
Research Coordinator I
av80973@usc.edu

Fiaba Zakarian
Project Assistant
fzakaria@usc.edu

Maria Esther Camargo-Diaz
Research Coordinator
camargod@usc.edu

Gabriela Gomez
Project Assistant
ggomez27@usc.edu

Data Team


Xinci Chen
Statistician I
xinciche@usc.edu

Tingyu Yang
Statistician I
tingyuya@usc.edu

Mario Vigil
Statistician I
mariov@usc.edu

Lab Team


Helen Foley, PhD
Research Associate, Senior
hfoley@usc.edu

Bethany Kapanke
Research Lab Technician I
kapanke@usc.edu

Danilo Martinez Guardado
Research Lab Technician I
danilom@usc.edu

Shanyan Xue
Research Lab Specialist
sxue@usc.edu